在Cifar-10上训练CNN

卷积神经网络(CNN)是一种被广泛用于图像和视频分类的前馈人造神经网络。在此例子中,我们将在Cifar-10数据集上训练三个深度CNN模型来进行图像分类,

  1. AlexNet,我们在验证集上能达到的最高准确度(不做数据增强)在82%左右。
  2. VGGNet,我们在验证集上能达到的最高准确度(不做数据增强)在89%左右。
  3. ResNet,我们在验证集上能达到的最高准确度(不做数据增强)在83%左右。
  4. 来自Caffe的AlexNet,SINGA能够无缝转换Caffe模型。

操作说明

SINGA安装

用户可以从源码编译和安装C++或者Python版本的SINGA。代码可以在CPU和GPU上执行。对于GPU上做训练,CUDA和CUDNN(V4或V5)是需要的。请参考安装界面以获得详细指示。

数据准备

Cifar-10的二进制数据集文件可以由如下指令下载

    python download_data.py bin

Python版本可以由如下指令下载

    python download_data.py py

训练

这里有4个训练程序

1.train.py。下面的指令将会用‘cifar-10-batches-py‘底下的python版本的Cifar-10数据集训练VGG模型。

    python train.py vgg cifar-10-batches-py

要训练其他模型,请用‘alexnet‘,‘resnet‘或‘caffe‘替换‘vgg‘。其中,‘caffe‘指由caffe的AlexNet转换的模型。默认情况下,模型将在CudaGPU设备上训练;若想要在CppCPU上运行,需添加额外的参数

    python train.py vgg cifar-10-batches-py  --use_cpu

2.alexnet.cc。它通过调用CPP API在CudaGPU上训练AlexNet模型。

    ./run.sh

3.alexnet-parallel.cc。它通过调用CPP API在两个CudaGPU上训练AlexNet模型。两个设备上同时运行并计算模型参数的梯度,然后它们会在CPU设备上取平均并用于更新参数。

    ./run-parallel.sh

4.vgg-parallel.cc。它调用CPP API在两个CudaGPU设备上训练VGG模型,同alexnet-parallel.cc类似。

预测

predict.py包含预测函数

    def predict(net, images, dev, topk=5)

net通过加载先前训练好的模型来被创建;images包含图像的numpy数组(每张图像一行);dev是训练时的设备,例如,一个CudaGPU设备或者CppCPU设备;它将返回每个实例的topk标签。

Predict.py文件主函数提供了用预训练的模型为新图片做预测的例子。‘mode.bin‘文件由训练程序生成,需要被放置在cifar目录下执行

    python predict.py

Train CNN over Cifar-10

Convolution neural network (CNN) is a type of feed-forward artificial neural network widely used for image and video classification. In this example, we will train three deep CNN models to do image classification for the CIFAR-10 dataset,

  1. AlexNet the best validation accuracy (without data augmentation) we achieved was about 82%.
  2. VGGNet, the best validation accuracy (without data augmentation) we achieved was about 89%.
  3. ResNet, the best validation accuracy (without data augmentation) we achieved was about 83%.
  4. Alexnet from Caffe, SINGA is able to convert model from Caffe seamlessly.

Instructions

SINGA installation

Users can compile and install SINGA from source or install the Python version. The code can ran on both CPU and GPU. For GPU training, CUDA and CUDNN (V4 or V5) are required. Please refer to the installation page for detailed instructions.

Data preparation

The binary Cifar-10 dataset could be downloaded by

python download_data.py bin

The Python version could be downloaded by

python download_data.py py

Training

There are four training programs

  1. train.py. The following command would train the VGG model using the python version of the Cifar-10 dataset in ‘cifar-10-batches-py‘ folder.

     python train.py vgg cifar-10-batches-py
    

    To train other models, please replace ‘vgg‘ to ‘alexnet‘, ‘resnet‘ or ‘caffe‘, where ‘caffe‘ refers to the alexnet model converted from Caffe. By default the training would run on a CudaGPU device, to run it on CppCPU, add an additional argument

     python train.py vgg cifar-10-batches-py  --use_cpu
    
  2. alexnet.cc. It trains the AlexNet model using the CPP APIs on a CudaGPU,

     ./run.sh
    
  3. alexnet-parallel.cc. It trains the AlexNet model using the CPP APIs on two CudaGPU devices. The two devices run synchronously to compute the gradients of the mode parameters, which are averaged on the host CPU device and then be applied to update the parameters.

     ./run-parallel.sh
    
  4. vgg-parallel.cc. It trains the VGG model using the CPP APIs on two CudaGPU devices similar to alexnet-parallel.cc.

Prediction

predict.py includes the prediction function

    def predict(net, images, dev, topk=5)

The net is created by loading the previously trained model; Images consist of a numpy array of images (one row per image); dev is the training device, e.g., a CudaGPU device or the host CppCPU device; It returns the topk labels for each instance.

The predict.py file‘s main function provides an example of using the pre-trained alexnet model to do prediction for new images. The ‘model.bin‘ file generated by the training program should be placed at the cifar10 folder to run

    python predict.py